Anyone know an accountant for Canadian nomads/expats?

Hey guys, this was my first year as a Canadian nomad.

As far as I know of, Canadians don’t pay taxes if they do not live in the country for 6 months.

But I’d like to talk to an accountant or someone who does Canadian taxes specifically for expats and nomads to get clear on the rules and for help on my return coming up.

Does anyone know someone who specializes in Canada who can help? I’ve seen plenty of US recommendations but none for us canucks.

Thanks guys!

I am Canadian as well. I am no tax expert, but my understanding is that to get out of the obligation to pay taxes in Canada you have to take very drastic steps:

1. Cut all your ties to Canada. Close bank accounts, cancel your credit cards, sell any property, etc. Obviously, forgo your provincial health insurance. Also, promise to RC that you really do not expect to live in Canada in the foreseeable future. If you don’t do that, they’ll consider your move temporary. They even say you have to cut most of your social ties, but that just sounds incredibly intrusive and, in any case, unverifiable (although a spouse living in Canada will probably scupper the whole deal).

2. Establish residence (+ tax residence) elsewhere and be able to provide proof of it (lease, bank account, voter card, tax payer ID, etc).

Unless you are ready to do 1 + 2, I think you’re on the hook, even if you don’t show up in your home country for years. Sorry to disappoint you! If “leaving” was as easy as spending 6 months elsewhere, I think we’d have a huge number of Canadians roaming the world.

Thanks for the reply @bisonravi.

I didn’t think it was that complicated but I’m searching for an accountant still to give me the 411.

I’ll post any info I find out.