As a British person, do I need a Visa to stay in Bulgaria for a few months?

This year I would to work for a few months in a different location taking my partner with me. I’m calling it a working holiday. Bulgaria is the place I’m thinking of starting this “trend” I would like to do. I have read a lot of other peoples thoughts of it and I know a guy who I sort of worked with, He currently works around the world.

My question is as I am a British WordPress developer will I need a work visa or anything? All my work will be with clients back home. I’m fully booked up with projects for around 6 months - it grows each week.

Will my partner need any visa?

I have been looking at places to stay and the thought of working on a nice sunny balcony overlooking the sea really make me feel good.

Hello!

As I understand, UK citizens are not Schengen but can work and live freely without registration in other EU states, [up to 90 days][1].

And although Bulgaria is not Schengen, they now have to follow the Schengen visa-issuing rules. Bulgaria is great. Of course double check but, you should be good-to-go!

Good luck!
[1]: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Visa_policy_of_the_Schengen_Area

@Andrew_F_Shaker thanks buddy! I will take a few months to plan this, hoping ni the UK summer (just before).

I thought best to try it in the EU first.

Aaron

1 Like

If you are visiting Bulgaria in the summer, you will prefer some smaller city/village, since the big ones are too ‘touristy’ in the holiday season.
If you are looking for a cool city not at the sea - definitely Plovdiv.

I second Plovdiv! I am thinking I will spend my summer there. It’s a great little city!

I’ve spent a lot of time in Bulgaria. My 2¢:

• Plovdiv should be high on your list. Both the new city and the historic old town are some of the best, most underrated must-see global destinations for people like us.