Feedback on UK mail handling services

Hi everyone,

I’m thinking of changing my current setup for mail/post receiving and scanning (at the moment I have some friends doing it for me), and I was wondering if anyone has any specific feedback/advice regarding UK companies. I’m currently looking at UKPostBox.

Any personal insight would be greatly appreciated!

Sara

Hi Sara,
I’ve been using UKPostBox for a couple of years.

It works well, I never had serious issues.
But it turned out to be much more expensive than I thought.
Mainly because my stupid bank keeps sending me documents, and I have the pay-as-you-go contract, so I pay a bit more than £1 for each of those mails (I pay a bit just to receive them, and then another bit more to ask them to open them and scan them).

The only thing missing form their service is that they don’t offer collection of parcels in person.

A friend of mine wanted to send me a massive book. I was travelling in London at the time, but I couldn’t ask him to ship it to my UKPostBox address, because I wouldn’t be able to collect it.

If I have to collect something physical I have to ask them to re-ship it to another address. I usually use my parents home in Italy for that. But as you can imagine, it gets complicated…

You should also be aware of a couple of gotchas with UK digital mail services.

1 ) It’s tricky to set them up the first time, if you are not resident at the moment.

You’ll be asked, if I remember correctly, of TWO proofs of address of a place your are supposed to be living. This is to comply with some security regulation.

I think there may be some tricky workarounds for that, but not easy.

1. Even if the virtual address looks like a real one, you won’t be able to use it for every service