Hi, I'm Manu, an accountant turned digital nomad and offshore tax expert. AMA!

Wonder how to do your taxes as a nomad? Ask your question now!

About Manu:
Today I’m here to clear any misunderstandings about international taxation for digital nomads. There is too much wrong, outdated and irrelevant information out there.

I will answer any general questions, relevant to the community as a whole. You are welcome to give your own situation as an example. If you are looking for personalized and actionable recommendations or referrals, please contact me or someone else you trust in this matter privately.

About myself: I learned accounting for 5 years in high school, but became more interested in international management and programming at university. I worked as a director and purchasing manager for a 100m+ private trust in Europe and Greater China. In 2013, I resigned from this position to have a better work-life balance and travel more. Since then I have spent most of my time in Asia doing consulting through various companies.

My latest project is a crowdfunding accelerator that will take place in Shenzhen, China later this year.

ASK AWAY!

1 Like

Manu,

If I have earnings made from US companies and spend a minority of my time there time (but not enough to be a resident for tax purposes), do I still need a US-based accountant?

Manu,

My home country (Lebanon) does not actually charge me taxes, unless if I’m working on Lebanese soil for a lebanese country.
How should I explain that to my US or EU clients? And how can I make them confident enough to pay me directly to my bank account without passing by an intermediary like elance?

Thx :smile: