How can life for digital nomads in Canada be improved?

Hi future friends!

I’m new to this so bare with me, please. My name is Wes Booth and I’m from Nova Scotia, Canada looking to start my nomad journey. I’ve noticed that Canada is not an ideal desitination for digital nomads, why’s that? Too expensive? Inconvenient? Too cold? I would like to hear your thoughts!

Thanks!

Hi Wes,

I live o the west coast of Canada and it’s great for digital nomads! There is fast wi-fi, a great travel network for getting around on different budgets, epic beaches in the summer and snowy mountains in the winter, and in Vancouver there is a massive startup community and group of digital nomads that live here at least part of the year.

Hi Wes,

its mainly because most nomads do it by also leveraging their first world wages. I also returned to Vancouver (I’m not Canadian however) once upon a time because of I noted that on a prior trip, its place to easily get a roomshare for awhile. Toronto however I went through literally hell renting. Its an entire city that’s hostile from working from home from a rental perspective and internet can be very hit and miss.

Plus if anyone thinks Canada’s bad, don’t go to Australia unless you can afford it. The most expensive country on the planet now and past several years running.

I’m a Canadian who does nomadic things mostly in Asia. In my view, the only sensible responses to the Canadian winter are to either hibernate or migrate. Of course, not everyone shares that view; in particular winter sports enthusiasts might really enjoy our winters.