I'm Mark Manson, Author, Blogger and Entrepreneur. AMA

Hey everyone.

My name is Mark Manson and I’m a professional blogger. My site is MarkManson.net. Although over the years, I’ve run a variety of online businesses and projects.

I’ve been a digital nomad since the Fall of 2009, making it slightly more than five years for me. (You can read what I learned from five years of being a nomad here.) In that time I’ve been to almost 60 countries and learned two languages to near-fluency (Spanish and Brazilian Portuguese) as well as studying a handful of others.

I love the nomadic lifestyle, but I’ve also been one of the only ones (to my knowledge) who has openly written about the drawbacks and sacrifices involved.

My girlfriend is Brazilian and has been traveling on the road with me since last summer. I feel like relationships is the next frontier for this lifestyle and that’s probably something I’m uniquely able to comment on.

I guess that’s it. Ask away!

5 Likes

Hey Mark, awesome to have you on the AMA.

What techniques and resourced did you use for learning new languages?

I find picking up languages really hard, being from the UK the majority of the world speaks english so have never learnt a second language but would really like too. Practicing is an issue as I’m in a new country and surrounded by a new language just as I start to pick up a few words and phrases.

Also what made you decide on those particular languages to master?

Thanks

1 Like

Hi Mark! Thanks for doing this. I’ve been a super big fan of all your writings. I remember reading the first ones back when I felt really confused and lost about doing this. It helped me a lot to read that this was a normal thing. Traveling fucks with your perception of reality. Reading that you had the same thing was helpful.

[quote=“MarkManson, post:1, topic:128”]I feel like relationships is the next frontier for this lifestyle and that’s probably something I’m uniquely able to comment on.
[/quote]