I'm Pete R., Running 2 startups, 2 blogs, freelancing, and creating travel videos, all on the road. AMA

Hey everyone,

I’m Pete Rojwongsuriya, a UI/UX specialized entrepreneur, currently running 2 startups, Travelistly and BucketListly, and working on client’s work at The Pete Design all from the road.

I’ve been traveling solo for a year and a half now and I often express my opinion about travel over at BucketListly Blog. I am also an amateur photographer (Photo Blog) and love creating travel videos. I recently came back from New Zealand and you can watch what I have experienced there on Vimeo.

AMA.

1 Like

Hi Pete! Thanks for doing this AMA :smile:

How do you feel being in different places than your home country directly influence what you make? Do you get inspiration from
places that turns into ideas and then features for your products?

Oh totally! I make it so traveling is a big part of my work routine. It is what gets my creative juice running. The whole process of traveling actually contributes a lot of what I do. I try my best to get at least one thing out of it from each of my trip. Most of the time though, the inspiration didn’t come directly from a place but from the people I spent my time with. Traveling solo allows me to meet so many different people from all walks of life, and that dynamic is what made it so valuable for me as a creative.

For example, the lesson I learned from planning several trips contributes directly to what feature I add on Travelistly. The categorization of content by location came when I was planning my trip to China and I was unable to find any english blog posts about the place I wanted to go.

Mingling with other travelers also helped me understand how people travel, how they share their experience and how they interact with technology which contributes a lot to the user experience decision I made for BucketListly. It’s like observing your future customers.