Is anybody a Digital Nomad in the UK and not a resident?

The situation is that my BF is a UK citizen and I am not. We are traveling around SEA and planning to stop in the UK for 6 months to rekindle funds. Granted, the UK is not the cheapest place to rekindle funds, however, he can work and get a good job there.

I have already done my working visa in the UK so I can’t legally work there again. I’m a graphic designer and web designer and have decided that I will try and get freelance work to support myself whilst I’m over there.

My question is more related to tax and visas. I am an Australia citizen so I can get a 3 month tourist visa. I’m just a little worried about how strict they are over there on visas and questioning finance etc

I spent 5 months in the UK as a tourist, working online in my own business. During that time I took three short trips outside the country. Every time, immigration asked me

• what I was doing there (tourism)

• how I was supporting myself (I said savings, and I had the bank statements to prove it. One guy did ask “how much do you have saved?”)

• when I was leaving (I had a printout of my outgoing flight)

They were polite but thorough, and they let me in each time. During the final entry I got grilled a little more (do you have a job waiting for you in your country of residence when you leave the UK? - I said yes - among other questions) but still passed.

they are pretty strict. don’t mention you are working - at all. that will pretty much put you immediately back on a plane out of the country. also don’t mention that your boyfriend is there. again, back out of the country.

Slightly off topic, but I thought Australians could get up to 6 months on a tourist visa?