Trialing Bangkok

Hey - I’m heading to Bangkok for a month from the 14th November to see how it feels living and working there for a month in terms of productivity/lifestyle/etc. I’m a FX/Futures trader so just generally require a decent computer and internet connection.

As far as the basics:
Housing: airbnb in Chatuchak
Workspace: The Hive
Gym: Traininggroundbkk

Any must see’s / advice / from those who have been to BKK would be appreciated. Likewise If you’re planning on being there over the same period drop me a line!

Cheers

I lived in Bangkok for two years, ending March of this year. I started out in Thailand by moving to Chiang Mai, but quickly decided to move to BKK as the transportation is better and I know more people there. I actually like it enough that I’m heading back sometime this spring and setting up a place as a base to do some more traveling/business in the region.

The only real advise I’d give you is be careful regarding food (or at least know your personal limits…). I’ve gotten pretty sick there a few times as have a couple of my friends…believe me, being sick for a month plus will floor your productivity and lead to intimate knowledge of the local medical establishment and other topics you’d probably rather not know about. I now have a rule of eating no fresh/uncooked stuff in Thailand unless I personally prepare it–haven’t been sick since.

Internet speeds are generally good, but some are a lot better than others. I had a fiber connection to my apartment through AIS that was extremely fast and cheap–much better than the service I have in the USA currently which is supposedly 3x as fast. Also, as a backup, the cell-based data is cheap and they generally allow tethering (bring unlocked phone and check that it supports the local LTE bands if important that it works well).