What are the implications of double nationality for a 'potential' US citizen?

Hi All

Newbie here enjoying the site. Quick question. What reservations would you have about taking on dual nationality: EU Country + USA. I have been in the US for several years but if we want to start roaming again in the future what are the key implications - beyond needing to file a US tax return for the rest of my life?

Thanks

A.

You might be limited in terms of banking as well. Not an expert on this, but as far as I know, fewer and fewer foreign banks are willing to take (regular, non-millionaire) US citizens as customers. Too much trouble, reporting, etc.

Mind if I reverse the question: what possible advantages do you see in becoming a US citizen? Shouldn’t an EU passport work equally well for the purposes of travel?

I see two main advantages - since I am on a green card.

1. I can vote (someone has got to try and keep the bastards at bay).
  2. I can leave the US for extended periods and not lose my GC.

unless you intend to make the usa your permanent home, i wouldn’t do it.

American-born, dual citizen here. DON’T DO IT.
First, although I love your enthusiasm about the messed up political system, you aren’t going to keep the bastards at bay with your vote, even if you are registered in a swing state. American politics is some messed up stuff and who knows where it will go in the future. My view is that they’re all bastards and I feel obligated to vote for whoever is less of a bastard. Don’t let that be a reason to get citizenship.