How do you find the public transport information of your next destination?

Probably most of you do as I do, Google it first and then research further, if needed, on official transportation websites, travel guides, blogs, etc.

I travel each month to a new city and I find this task tedious, sometimes there’s not enough information in English or there might be a handy travel planning app or uber-like app that I’m not aware of.

I wish there were a “nomad list” website or app for transport information where you would choose a city and be given all the transportation options (Bus? Tram? Subway? etc), how/where to buy tickets/passes and any additional useful information (trip planner, apps, maps, etc).

Do any of you relate to this?

PS: I’m a developer and I might actually try and create something to “fix” this if a lot of people are experiencing this same “annoyance”.

How about asking people once you’re there? I remember when I used to try doing research online and it’s such a waste of time. Besides, as an introvert, I find it’s a great excuse to talk to strangers.
People really need to stop depending so much on smartphones.

My biggest issue is trying to find the best way to get to an airport from the city. Virtually all info online tells you how to get from the airport, but not the other way around! The point is that the cheapest or best way to an airport might be different from an airport.

Otherwise just use google for public transport info.

Doesn’t google maps do exactly that?

Yeah getting to the cities from airports can be truly a hassle… sometimes I use transfer services like Suntransfers.com. I’ve gotten really good deals with such sites, specially when they offer shared mini-van transfers, it takes a bit longer but they’ll drop you off anywhere in the city centre and it’s way cheaper than a taxi. They’re also great for late night transfers to the airport.