How do you insure your laptop when you have already left your country of residence?

Hello Digital Nomads!

I’m in a bit of a pickle: I am a Canadian resident currently living a bit everywhere in Europe. I’m starting a trip around the world in March while I keep doing freelance work. I know want to insure my laptop, but how can I do that? In the eyes of Canadian insurance companies, I’m already on my trip… Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!!!

Laurie
LaurieMillotte.com

How to insure my belongings when traveling in SE Asia & South America?

I don’t know anything about Canadian insurance, but I simply don’t. It’s a fairly minor expense if it needs to be replaced or repaired, however inconvenient.

Don’t overthink it, @Laurie. Some credit card travel insurances will include valuables up to a certain limit. But as long as you don’t travel with golden jewelry all this tech is not that expensive any more. Just calculate your average depreciation for it (including occasional theft and destruction) and build up accruals accordingly.

After you have a number you will see that insurance is a bad deal for you. Else the company wouldn’t do it. In addition to the real risk they also need to cover administration and profits (which you don’t have to).

In general I would never insure anything that won’t bankrupt me head-on. it’s always cheaper to skip insurance and occasionally pay yourself.

1 Like

Hi @JamesSchipper and @manu,

thanks for the speedy answers! It’s just that my MacBook Pro is only 2 months old you see… so it’s still a bit of money for me! (I checked my credit card would cover me in case of burglary so that’s something already).

That’s the worst case, I was NOT hoping for, as it clearly doesn’t proof my point :frowning:

Hi Laurie,