Who is a solo-traveling digital nomad, who's traveling in a group or as a nomad family?

It feels that being a digital nomad / remote worker also means a lot to be a solo-traveler. I’d like to see how much this is the case here — out of curiosity. And whether there are actually groups or families traveling in the (digital) nomad lifestyle.

1 Like

I’ve met a few couples, but the vast majority of nomads I know, including myself, are solo.

My wife and I have been traveling as digital nomads for about 4 years now.

Travelling with a family, but not for a full year, maybe half a year at home, half a year on the road. Travelling solo or with friends are of course completely different activities (ask me about best playgrounds in the neighbourhood :D)

It would be awesome to see nomadic family communities, at the moment HackerParadise or a RemoteYear are not doable with kids. And kids need company, they need to play with other children, to learn and explore. If you know any nomadic communities that do that, please let me know.

2 Likes

solo here

I did solo (well, me and my dog) for almost four years and am about to hit the road with my boyfriend for the first time May 1st.

I’ve met lots of couples and singles, not as many families, though they are out there.

1 Like

@lognaturel and I are married and have been nomading for about a year and a half. It’s great, but we’ve learned that you gotta have some alone and hang out with other people time.

2 Likes

Hey @borowis, there is in fact a nomadic family community out there, called NomadFamily :slight_smile:

2 Likes

ah, that’s cool, I’ll be watching them, seems like they’ve just started. Thanks, Naii!

1 Like

Thanks for this link, very cool! My family and I are about to embark on our Nomadic travels, starting in Oslo, Norway and then landing for a month in Riga, Latvia. Follow us at Where’s Your Dunny.

2 Likes