Hi, I’m Meng To, author of Design+Code and world traveler. AMA!

Hi, I’m Meng, designer, coder and author of Design+Code. I’ve been traveling and working for 18 months across 30 cities, 20 countries and consumed a ton of coconut drinks.

My journey started because of a denied visa, and today I make 5x more money while traveling than I did in San Francisco. I accidentally built my own startup in the process and now have a remote team. It’s definitely possible to hit the road without sacrificing your tech lifestyle and entrepreneurial spirit.

Ask me anything!

1 Like

Thank you so much to have you here.

Questions

• What do you think about swift? Could it be in production?
  • How was the moment of you said that you have to hire someone and how you handled it?
  • Did you experience some bad moments during this journey?

Thanks Arthur, it’s a privilege to be here!

• I can’t speak for the developers who have massive projects, but for me, Swift is definitely ready. I build all my apps using Swift, and I’m working with two iOS developers who use Swift on a daily basis.

• When I wrote about the code part, I always questioned myself if this was the best possible way to write code. So I consulted my friends, and that evolved into a real team. The act of hiring is always about getting people better than you at something. In order to continue providing the best content, I knew I had to get other people onboard. With the success of the book, that enabled me to do it and I’m so happy I can.

• For me, the worst thing about traveling is being stuck in an airport and dealing with the visa, not being sure if you can enter the next country or not. But once that’s done, it’s the greatest feeling in the world. It’s like winning a small battle. Each time I deal with old systems and come out stronger, I feel infinitely grateful.

Hi Meng, nice to have you, I love your book!